Five Potential Brewers Award Candidates

Despite an early exit from the 2021 MLB play-offs, the Milwaukee Brewers had a successful season in which they compiled 95 wins and were division champions.  With racking up so many wins, they likely will have players and coaches within the organization who will be candidates to win awards this off-season.

November 1st marks when the three finalist at Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Cy Young, and Most Valuable Player are announced.  Winners for these award will be announced November 8th-11th with one winner being announced each day.  November 2nd is when Gold Glover winners at each position will be announced.  Saturday November 6th is when silver sluggers are announced.

Here are five potential Brewers awards candidates for the upcoming awards season.  

Kolton Wong – Gold Glove

Wong is no stranger to being in the spotlight as one of the leagues best defenders at second base.  He has been the National Leagues gold glover award winner each of the last two seasons and should be in the running again in 2021.  He ranked in the 73rd percentile in outs above replacement and committed just two errors all season.

Josh Hader – Reliver of the Year 

Similar to how Wong has won multiple awards at his position, Hader has been a repeat recipient of the National League reliver of the year award.  He finished 2021 with 34 saves and a career best 1.23 ERA.  Additionally, he again excelled at striking batters out and posted a 15.6 strikeouts per nine innings pitched.

Craig Counsell – Manager of the Year

Perhaps this is the year in which Counsell finally gets recognized as manager of the year.  He was a finalist in both 2018 and 2019, but fell just short.  Both of those years, the Brewers had great Septembers to propel themselves into the post season.  In 2021, the Brewers essentially had the division wrapped up by early September, so perhaps that will be the difference this year.

Corbin Burnes – Cy Young

Throughout the history of the Brewers franchise, they have had two Cy Young Award Winners.  In 1981 Rollie Fingers won the award and Pete Vuckovich a year later.  This year, that drought may finally end.  Burnes has been the most dominant pitcher in 2021 including games where he struck out 10 batters in a row and pitched eight no hit innings in what ended up being a combined no-hitter.  He reset the history books both within the franchise and in the MLB.  Burnes is the front runner to win Cy Young this year.

All MLB Team

In 2020, the Brewers had just one player make the all MLB team.  That player was Devin Williams who was one of two relief pitchers appointed to the all MLB second team.  This year, Corbin Burnes and Josh Hader should strongly be considered as all MLB first team players.  Brandon Woodruff, who finished fourth in the ERA race, is also likely to make an all MLB team.

Award season is a great way to kick-off the MLB off-season.  Hopefully a few Brewers can bring home some hardware this year!

Follow me on Twitter @tylerkoerth.  Follow us @WiSportsHeroics for more great content. To read more of our articles and keep up to date on the latest in Wisconsin sports, click here!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button