Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Home Sports Badgers Back to Back Champs!!! Badger’s Women Hockey

Back to Back Champs!!! Badger’s Women Hockey


Wisconsin Women’s Hockey team took down Northeastern University 2-1 in OT to win the the National Title.

Intro to The Game

After UW missed 6 games in December due to Covid many worried about them finishing the season. Well they did that, won the confrence tournament, and made it all the way to the championship. With a record of (17-3-1). All three losses came to Final Four Teams. Two losses to Ohio St and one to Minnesota Duluth.

For Northeastern seeking their schools first ever championship in any sport they went 18 games in a row without losing. A streak that started following their only lose of the season against Boston College on Dec. 13th. They came in (22-1-1).

Both teams featured one of the top 3 finalists for Patty Kazmaier Award, awarded to the best women’s hockey player.

In feed

Wisconsin’s Senior Daryl Watts and Northeastern’s Senior Aerin Frankel.

This game also featured a record five of the season’s first-team All-Americans: Frankel, Skylar Fontaine, and Alina Mueller for Northeastern; Watts and Grace Bowlby for the Badgers.

This was also the FIRST Women’s National Hockey game to be televised on ESPN

Game Summary

What was a defensive battle through the first two periods the third period was much different.

After over 50 minutes of scoreless hockey Wisconsin freshman Makenna Webster scored off a rebound to put Wisconsin up 1-0.

However, it only took 39 seconds for Northeastern’s Chloé Aurard to respond, tying the game 1-1.

That’s where the game sat until the end of regulation.


By this point, both teams were gassed, but the action was fast and fierce.

Until all of a sudden it was over. The fastest OT goal in National Championship history. Daryl Watts scored from behind the net, banked in a centering pass off Northeastern’s Megan Carter for a 2-1 victory in Erie, Pennsylvania.

For Watts it was the NCAA-best 19th goal.

Game Take Away

Wisconsin Head Coach, Mark Johnson won his sixth NCAA championship. Breaking a tie with Shannon Miller, for most all-time. Johnson also won a title as a Badgers player in 1977. Through a weird two years since the Badgers won the title in 2019, they become back to back champions. A feat they haven’t done since the 2006 and 2007 season.

For More Great Wisconsin Sports Content

Follow me on Twitter @Letitflysports and follow us @WiscoHeroics1for more great content. To read more of our articles and keep up to date on the latest in Wisconsin sports, click here! Check out our shop for new merchandise! Use promo code “WISCO” at checkout for $1 off! 

- Advertisement -


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: